A Comedy of Errors

Although I found none of this particularly funny when it happened to me, but looking back its amazing how many little things can just go wrong in a day.

So winter is on its way here in Sydney and while I don’t mind the cold, the rain is soothing, and the wind can be quite refreshing; being assaulted by all three at once is really getting my spirits down.   To compensate for these conditions I’ve had to bulk up on several layers of clothing; all of which I no longer need once I arrive at work.

With all this rain comes the mud.   Oodles of the stuff.  I live in an area where the substrate is mostly clay.  Water doesn’t run off to well and as a result my front yard is a swamp.  With the mud, everyone is taking their shoes of at the front door.   In the morning my first battle was getting out of the house, nearly tripping over someones shoes.  I caught myself but had I not the glass window that I surely would have collided with, would have left me in a bad way.

Where my car is parked, yet more mud.  Walking carefully, nearly falling as I lost traction on the ground.  This type of slip and slide is not a safe one.   In this instance nothing to grab on bar the car mirror so that would have gotten ripped off in the process.

The security door at work, didn’t open as it usually did, catching on the door jam and I was so desperate to get out of the weather I walked into it.  All that got injured in that event was my pride.

Fortunately work itself passed by quietly.   The train trip home was cold, the seat was uncomfortable.  The road home was a virtual parking lot as cars crawled slowly along.   In hindsight I credit the caution that was being exercised.

Once home, my sons school pants were on my bed, needing some mending.   First my can of drink sprayed everywhere.  Then I ended up pricking my finger several times with the needle.   The optometrist did warn me that my vision would change, and it has.  Now I have to remove my glasses for close up work.

As my missus was gathering herself together to get some dinner, I grabbed my wallet, and somehow manage to drop my wallet at the same.

I’m sure there is more to test my patience as the evening wears on.  I still have to collect my laundry.  No doubt some catastrophe is in store their as I navigate from the backdoor to the laundry.

I’ll be content once this day is finally over.

2 thoughts on “A Comedy of Errors

  1. At least you managed to write about it, and give us something to chuckle about 😊
    I hope tomorrow is better!

Leave a Reply

