Smoke and Mirrors

I never wanted much
nor expected much
Just someone who would understand
just a little empathy

You invited me in
your open arms, inviting
Your smile warm, welcoming
The door slammed, bolted tight

Once inside, I was blinded
the smoke thick
concealing, choking
I didn’t understand

Where ever I looked
false imagery presented
your facade, almost perfect
a crack emerging

A window found
a chance breathe of fresh air
seeing clearly now
escape

Looking back
clouded in smoke
concealed by mirrors
One word, is all I needed

This imagery has been rattling around upstairs for a few weeks now and it kinda took form. Whether you think its good or bad, its helped my mental state; which is what I needed to have happen.

5 thoughts on “Smoke and Mirrors

Leave a Reply

