A helping hand

I like helping friends. I always have and always will. Sometimes my good nature has been taken advantage of, and I have learned from those situations. When I need help though, I feel bad about asking for it. I think that within a circle of friends or social group if you recognize that someone needs help, that you should offer to help. That’s the way I see it anyway. So for me at least, asking for help isn’t something I feel comfortable doing. I’d rather muddle through on my own.

So late last night, I was talking with a friend and she offered to help me to something. I was taken by surprise. As the minutes passed I realized that she meant I will help you now.

An hour later, almost surreal it seemed, we were done. Contextually what was being done was trivial but having a helping hand just meant a lot.

It’s a bit cliché, but so true; actions do speak louder than words.

5 thoughts on “A helping hand

  1. I missed a few posts because of the site title change…oops! Love the new look.
    Yes, I’ve always been good at giving, but not receiving. I’m working on it 😉
    I’m glad that you didn’t muddle through – I’m sure your friend got much pleasure from helping you.

Leave a Reply

