Failed resolution

At the beginning of this year I set only one resolution, something I’d hoped I could reasonably achieve. It was to form one or two meaningful friends that would endure over time.

So many people drift in and out of my life, I wanted to have a friend that would stick.  I joined a penpal site.   After a few months I was happily exchanging letters with three people.  

When one stopped writting I wondered what was wrong and left it at that.   Then a second stopped a few months later and not long after that the third stopped.

I do not know why.   I thought to write but thought that it might be pushy or invasive to persist.   A friend suggested I just leave the ball in their court as it were. 

I’m not sure what my resolution will be for the coming year, maybe something not so lofty and more achievable.

Leave a Reply

