Saying what needed to be said

Personally I have trouble telling people how I feel about them, especially those I care about. So mustering up the courage to say what needed saying wasn’t easy.

Apologies if this is somewhat disjointed, as at this moment I’m in tears and have been off and on for the past few hours.

A friend of mine, who is very dear to me and I care very much about is going through a big change in her life. She has this one chance to do it and has committed. We met in a game oddly enough. An MMORPG (massively multiplayer online role playing game). Over the past few years a friendship developed that exists beyond the game. She lives in Alaska, and I am here in Australia. We communicate via email and of course chat in game. We can talk candidly about nearly anything. She makes me laugh.

I don’t suppress my emotions and I do cry when I’m sad or hurt. Tonight I cried cause I was happy for her. I know some people will read this and think I’m just being silly or overly emotional. The few friends I have a very dear to me. I rather that than lots of “fake” friends on some social network. So loosing one, even just temporarily does have an impact on me.

We were able to play tonight, which I’m thankful for. I knew she was leaving soon; would have been my Sunday; but the timetable moved forward and tonight was her last night. She’s not sure how long it will take to get settled and until then we are out of touch with one another. A few days ago I emailed her and told her how I feel about her, that I care for her, that I will worry and I will miss her. That made her happy. I’m truly happy for her, even though I know I will be sad while shes away.

3 thoughts on “Saying what needed to be said

  1. Hey, what MMORPG are you talking about? I’m addicted to Arcane Legends right now so you may want to check it out. Anyway, I have read your post and couldn’t help but comment since I myself prefer to have a small group of friends who are true to me than millions of fake people by my side. Don’t worry so much about your friend since you’ll be talking to her sooner than you think. 🙂

      1. Aha! The basis of Adventure Time which is another favorite of mine. Anyway, I look forward to more post from you.

Leave a Reply

