Fifteen Years

Todays marks the day that I have been with my current employer for 15 years. I work in IT in a legal firm. That’s a long time, especially for an IT person. I have seen a lot of changes and keeping up with the change can sometimes be a loosing battle, yet its all part of the fun. I was involved in ripping out our old Wang Mainframe and taking it to be recycled. I have seen our data center evolve from a big room with lots of PCs and servers, lots of screens with everything doing something, into just a few servers with nearly everything running virtualised.

I enjoy my job, I enjoy the people I work with. Sometimes it gets really frustrating, especially have to work weekends or late nights – with no overtime 😦 We compensate though by having time off in-lieu. Its not quite the same but a day off mid week can be very handy.

I thought there would be a little celebration or at the very least some acknowledgement of my time. Sadly no. Oh well. That’s how it goes though sometimes if you get your hopes up. Whats the saying; “Another day, another dollar”.

When the new week starts on Monday, I’ll see when I check my email in the morning what new fang-dangled do-dad someone wants to tinker with or new technology to explore.

2 thoughts on “Fifteen Years

  1. I couldn’t imagine being in the same job for 15 years, Chris. I would go totally mental! Congratulations on your milestone 🙂

Leave a Reply

